Step One

I have been going on and on about a pretty big need at church and I have been praying about it (here and there). But I was reading Francis Chan’s Forgotten God last week. He repeatedly talks about the power of prayer (through the Holy Spirit) and shares about a woman involved in.. some kind of amazingly awesome ministry of sorts. She had no set resources but would simply pray on her knees every night until God provided.

Okay, obviously that doesn’t mean that God gives us everything that we pray for, no matter how earnestly. No matter how good our intentions may be, God has His plans. Just because we think that something will be good doesn’t mean that it’s what God has planned.  Silence can also be an answer.

Anyways, reading that did make me take a step back as I realized that.. I tend to talk some biiiiig talk about the whys, whats, and hows. I think I have an idea on what should be done but very rarely do I first go to God in prayer. Why don’t I go ask God what HE wants me to do, if anything at all. Why don’t I ask Him for wisdom and clarity? Of course it only makes sense to first pray about an issue. That should be my natural and initial response, shouldn’t it?

Then I looked again at this “big need” that I see and had to hang my head in shame. When have I ever gotten down on my knees and prayed for God to provide? Have I ever prayed desperately? If I say that this is so important and is such a concern, why am I not praying about it constantly?

Maybe it’s time for me to stop saying, “I need to pray about this” and actually pray.

Comment